Home News APC shows its strength with 65 elected senators

APC shows its strength with 65 elected senators

by easyclick
Spread the love

SIXTY-FIVE of the 109 senatorial seats have been won by the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The party looks set to dominate the Ninth Senate but it needs eight more slots to have a two-third majority when a New Senate opens in June.

With the 65 seats, the APC will enjoy numerical strength and a simple majority in the Red Chamber.

The opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has clinched 39. The Young Progressive Party (YPP) won a senatorial seat in Anambra State.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the election inconclusive in three senatorial districts. As at the time of going to press last night, only one was yet to be declared by the electoral umpire.

The 109 seats in the upper chamber of the National Assembly are made up of three senators from each of the 36 states. The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) has a slot.

The APC won 20 seats from the Northwest. The region has 21 slots from seven states. The PDP clinched the remaining sloth from Kaduna South.

Of the 18 slots in the Southwest, 14 went to the APC. The PDP got three seats. The election in the Ondo South Senatorial District was declared inconclusive by the electoral umpire.

In the Northeast, the APC clinched 14 slots. The PDP won four.

The PDP won 15 seats in the Southsouth, leaving the remaining three for the APC. The APC won one seat each in Bayelsa, Edo and Delta states.

In the Southeast, the PDP won 10 seats. The APC took two. The Youth Progressive Party (YPP) won a seat in Anambra. INEC, which declared election in one of the zones inclusive, has not released result in one district.

In the Northcentral, the APC won 12 seats as against PDP’s five. The result from one district is yet to be declared.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App